PRESS RELEASE

Contact: Margaret Bauer, Editor North Carolina Literary Review

www.NCLR.ecu.edu
Department of English
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC 27858-4353

Office extension: (252) 328-1537

Leah Hampton Wins 2012 Betts Fiction Prize

Leah Hampton of Waynesville, NC, is the winner of the 2012 Doris Betts Fiction Prize competition for her story "The Saint." Hampton will receive a prize of \$250 from the North Carolina Writers Network, and her story will be published in the *North Carolina Literary Review*'s 2013 issue.

Leah Hampton teaches English at Western Carolina University in Cullowhee, North Carolina, where she currently serves as the Associate Director of WCU's Writing and Learning Commons. She is a native North Carolinian and a longtime resident of the Blue Ridge Mountains. She lives in Waynesville with her husband Joel.

NCLR Fiction Editor Liza Wieland selected Hampton's story from twelve finalists, saying "I chose 'The Saint' as winner of the 2012 Doris Betts Fiction Prize because I was moved by the quiet, deliberate voice in the story, as well as by the energy of the language. I was also impressed by the story's experiment with chronology, its demonstration that grief can dismantle time and thus in some way make time useful to us. This is a story that is both disarmingly wise and breath-takingly beautiful." Eighty-nine stories were submitted to this year's competition. Wieland also noted Ronald Jackson's "The Shower," Kathryn Lovatt's "A Cure For Dreams," and Gregg Cusick's "Entanglement" for honorable mention. Other finalists were Allison Reavis, Nancy Richard, Kermit Turner, Beth Hatcher, Faith Holsaert, Haley Edwards, Leah Berkowitz, and Susan Walker.

Sponsored by the North Carolina Writers Network, the competition is named for preeminent North Carolina writer Doris Betts, award-winning author of six novels and three short story collections. *NCLR* is sad to note the passing of Ms. Betts on April 21, 2012. A celebrated writer and gifted teacher, Doris Betts inspired countless writers throughout her career and will continue to inspire those who follow. This award honors the legacy of one of North Carolina's finest writers.

Published since 1992 by East Carolina University and the North Carolina Literary and Historical Association, the *North Carolina Literary Review* has won numerous awards and citations. Fiction editor Liza Wieland is the author of three novels and three collections of short stories.

A two-year subscription to *NCLR* will include the 2012 issue, featuring first and second place stories from the 2011 Betts competition, as well as the 2013 issue, featuring stories from this year's competition. Go to www.nclr.ecu.edu/subscriptions for subscription instructions, and subscribe by June 1 to avoid postage charges.