Skip to content

2023 James Applewhite Poetry Competition

The North Carolina Literary Review is accepting submissions for the 2023 Applewhite Poetry Prize from April 1 through April 30.

1st prize is $250, publication in NCLR, and a Pushcart Prize nomination. Finalists will also be considered for publication in NCLR and NCLR Online, and poets will receive $25–$100.

The James Applewhite Poetry Prize competition is open to any writer who fits the NCLR definition of a North Carolina writer: anyone who currently lives in North Carolina, has lived in North Carolina, or uses North Carolina as subject matter. We do not have any line restrictions, though have rarely published a poem of longer than 3 pages of our layout.

For all entry details:

2022 Winner: Barbara Campbell

2nd Place: Nancy Swanson

Finalists (published in NCLR Online Winter 2023):

J.S. Absher
Janis Harrington 
JoAnn Hoffman
Debra Kaufman
Jamal Michel
Anne Myles
Maureen Sherbondy