Skip to content

2023 Doris Betts Fiction Competition

The North Carolina Literary Review is accepting submissions for the 2023 Betts Fiction contest, co-sponsored with the North Carolina Writers Network, from September 15 through October 31.

1st prize is $250, publication in NCLR, and a Pushcart Prize nomination. Finalists will also be considered for publication in NCLR and NCLR Online, and writers will receive $25–$100.

The Doris Betts Fiction Prize competition is open to any writer who fits the NCLR definition of a North Carolina writer: anyone who currently lives in North Carolina, has lived in North Carolina, or uses North Carolina as subject matter.
The competition is for previously unpublished short stories up to 6,000 words. Multiple entries ok, but each requires a separate entry fee. No novel excerpts. Stories do NOT have to relate to NCLR’s annual special feature topic, although they can.

David Joy is this year’s final judge.

For all entry details:

2022 Winner: Erin Reid

2nd Place: Theresa Blackinton

Published Finalists:
Emily Katz
Gary Powell