Skip to content

Classic Editor Test Page

Dr. Margaret Bauer

Margaret BauerMargaret D. Bauer is the Rives Chair of Southern Literature in the Department of English, a Distinguished Professor of Harriot College of Arts and Science, and the editor of the North Carolina Literary Review.

Dr. Bauer was named one of the ten ECU Women of Distinction in 2007, and that same year received the Parnassus Award for Significant Editorial Achievement from the Council of Editors of Learned Journals.

Her other ECU honors include the Scholar-Teacher Award in 2004, the Five-Year Achievement Award for Excellence in Research and Creativity Activity in 2008, the Centennial Award for Excellence in Leadership in 2012, and the Lifetime Achievement Award for Excellence in Research and Creative Activity in 2014.

She is also a past President of the North Carolina Literary and Historical Association. In 2017, she received the North Carolina Award for Literature from Governor Roy Cooper and the R. Hunt Parker Memorial Award from the North Carolina Literary and Historical Association for her significant contributions to North Carolina Literature. In 2018, the North Carolina Humanities Council presented her with their highest award, the John Tyler Caldwell Award for the Humanities.

This was made with the Block Editor. This does not allow me to switch to Class Editor

Timm Hackett

Senior Teaching Instructor
Bate 2117


For the 2019-2021 academic years, Timm Hackett will serve as one of ECU’s faculty leaders for the THCAS’s transition to the Canvas Learning Management System. In the past, he served as the Fixed-term Faculty Committee chairperson and the chair of the department’s Distance Education Committee. He has served three times as the chair of the University’s Distance Education and Learning Technology Committee. He has also served as the chair of the University’s Unit Code Screening Committee and the Academic Integrity Committee. From 2015-19 and 2021 Hackett served as one of the lead mentors for the Office of Faculty Excellence’s CourseFIT (formerly, Teaching with Technology) workshops.On the department level, Hackett serves as the Communication Director.